about us


The National Camogie Association was founded in 1904 by … the Wexford Camogie Association was formed. After winning promotion from intermadiate in the late 1950s, Wexford won their first All Ireland Senior Camogie Championship in 1968, and won further All Ireland titler in 1969, 1975, 2007, 2010, 2011 and 2021. They contested the first National Camogie League final in 1977, won the second competition and returned to win it three times in a row between 2009 and 2011. Buffers Alley and Rathnure have won the All Ireland Senior Club Championship. Notable players include team of the century members Marry Sinnott and Margaret O’ Leary, player of the year award-winners Bridget Doyle and Kate Kelly, All Star award winners Aine Codd, Mags Darcy, Mary Leacy, Ursula Jacob. Una Leacy, Claire O’Connor, Catherine O’Loughlin, Katrina Parrock and All Ireland final stars Mary Walsh and Gretta Quigley.
Under Camogie’s National Development Plan 2010-2015, ” Our Game, Our Passion”, five new camogie clubs were to be established in the county by 2015. Wexford have the following achievements in camogie.  


National Camogie Leagues